Penagogy

Icon

The art and science of fountain pens and ink

Simple Question – Incredible Idea – Amazing Paper!

It never ceases to amaze me how asking simple questions can lead to incredible results.

To wit, Whitelines paper (http://www.whitelines.se/eng/index.php) developed by Designer Olof Hansson of Stockholm. When he was copying a sketch he became irritated because the lines on the copy made a mess of his sketch. It was then that the idea of having white lines hit him. Unlike dark lines, white lines are not visible on a photocopy. The result is Whitelines paper (a light grey paper with white lines, of course). Once you see it, you get it. Once you write with it, you will fall in love with it! And at some point, you will ask yourself why you didn’t think of such a simple idea.

I discovered this paper on a recent trip to Toronto at Sleuth & Statesman (http://www.sleuthandstatesman.com/) in First Canadian Place and just had to have it. When I got home, I grabbed my broad Delta deskpen (loaded with Conway Stewart Blue) and started writing on this paper. The words and colour practically jumped right off the page – and no offending lines to disturb my words. My only problem now is, I need more of this stuff. I can only hope that S&S still have some when I am to get back to their stores. Distribution appears extremely limited (for now), although you can order from their website (ouch on the shipping and duties).

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment